EDA - Engineering Data Analysis

The next generation of a web-based data system based on free software components using Mongo-DB, Python, Gnuplot and Latex

EDA in brief

Matplus EDA is a new, extensible web application developed by us specifically for technical and scientific collaboration in materials engineering. It supports the integrated processing of complex material data, mathematical models (visualization, curve fitting) and knowledge in engineering teams. For this purpose, a powerful database with comprehensive mathematical analysis and plot functions as well as a web-based knowledge management is available.

Technically EDA combines selected mature and free software components, which form together a powerful and expandable system. Core components are MongoDB, Python, SciPy, Gnutplot and LaTeX

EDA is shipped as a preconfigured virtual machine. It can directly be used as an appliance in usual virtualization environments without the need for installation. The end users (and administrators) access the system via their usual web browser (HTML5).

The basic functionality of the EDA system will soon be available as free, open-source software. Support and expansion modules beyond basic functionality require a service contract. This includes support, extra modules and automatic updates.

EDA - Pictures and Examples

Use cases, modules and functions

EDA for JMatPro (JM)

JM offers extended possibilities for material development using JMatPro. While JMatPro supports the user-friendly calculation of individual alloys, JM allows n-dimensional optimization of the entire range of chemical compositions. For this purpose, results from very many JMatPro batch-calculations can be imported into the EDA database and evaluated, e.g. tabular or graphical comparisons.

EDA for Materials Modeling (MM)

MM supports the materials modeling by processing of test data. The system supports the import of different data in different units as well as integrated functions for processing, data compaction, re-sampling. Core functionalities are storage and querying of n-dimensional arrays of data as well as the parameterization of arbitrary constitutive material models (curve fitting). Predefined and documented material models (such as flow curve and phase transformation models) can be modified, extended and parametrized, resulting in a growing knowledge base.

EDA for Knowledge Management (KI)

KI offers a unique integrated knowledge management system consisting of data, models and texts. A technical wiki system allows the creation of documents linking to data, equations, images, models and references (Zotero). The integrated report functionality allows the generation of high-quality printouts using LaTeX. External documents (such as PDF) und bibliographies can also be integrated and be searched using full text retrieval.

EDA for Knowledge Transfer (KT)

KT allows the transfer of knowledge islands (documents and linked data) between different instances and servers. This allows to combine autonomous knowledge bases of collaborative projects. Knowledge bases (documents with all the underlying and linked data) can be encrypted using PGP specifically for partners / target customers. PGP-encrypted knowledge can then be transferred securely and only be decrypted by the target system.

Please contact us in case of any questions

EDA - Engineering Data Analysis

Die nächste Generation eines webbasierten Datensystems auf Basis freier Softwarekomponenten

Kurzbeschreibung

Matplus EDA ist eine neuartige, erweiterbare Webanwendung, die von uns speziell für die technisch-wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit in der Werkstofftechnik entwickelt wurde. Sie unterstützt eine integrierte Verarbeitung von komplexen Werkstoffdaten, mathematischen Modellen (Visualisierung, Curve Fitting) und Wissen in Engineering-Teams. Dafür ist eine leistungsfähige Datenbank mit umfangreichen mathematischen Analyse- und Plotfunktionen sowie ein web-basiertes Wissensmanagement vorhanden. 

Technische Basis ist eine abgestimmte Auswahl ausgereifter und freier Softwarekomponenten, die zu einem enorm leistungsfähigen und erweiterbaren Gesamtpaket verknüpft sind. Kernkomponenten sind MongoDB, Python, SciPy, Gnutplot und LaTeX

EDA wird als vollständig vorkonfigurierte virtuelle Maschine ausgeliefert. Diese kann als fertige Appliance ohne Installationsaufwand in üblichen Virtualisierungsumgebungen eingesetzt werden. Die Endanwender (und Administratoren) greifen über übliche Web-Browser (HTML5) von ihrem jeweiligen Arbeitsplatz auf das System zu. 

Die Basisfunktionalität des EDA-Systems wird im Laufe des Jahres ebenfalls als freie, quelloffene Software zur Verfügung stehen. Support und Erweiterungsmodule jenseits der Basisfunktionalität erfordern einen Service-Vertrag. Dieser beinhaltet alle entsprechenden Funktionserweiterungen und automatischen Updates.

Beispiele und Bilder zur EDA

Anwendungsfälle, Module und Funktionen

EDA für JMatPro (JM):

JM bietet erweiterte Möglichkeiten für die Werkstoffentwicklung mit Hilfe von JMatPro. Während JMatPro die anwenderfreundliche Berechnung einzelner Legierungen unterstützt ist mit JM die n-dimensionale Optimierung über die gesamten Analysenspannweiten möglich. Dazu können Ergebnisse aus einer Vielzahl von (automatisierten) JMatPro-Berechnungen in die EDA-Datenbank eingelesen und datenbankgestützt ausgewertet werden, z.B. tabellarisch oder graphisch.   


EDA für die Modellbildung (MM)

MM unterstützt die werkstofftechnische Modellbildung durch  Auswertung von Prüfdaten. Das System unterstützt das Einlesen unterschiedlichster Daten in verschiedenen Einheiten sowie integrierte Funktionen zur Verarbeitung, Datenverdichtung, Re-Sampling. Kernfunktionalitäten sind Speicherung und Abfrage von n-dimensionalen Datenfeldern sowie die darauf basierende Parametrisierung beliebiger konstitutiver Werkstoffmodelle (Curve-Fitting). Im System vordefinierte und dokumentierte Werkstoffmodelle (z.B. Fließkurven- und Phasenumwandlungsmodelle) können frei erweitert werden, so dass eine Wissensbasis entsteht.


EDA für Wissensmanagement (KI)

KI bietet ein einzigartiges integriertes Wissensmanagement aus Daten, Modellen und Texten. Ein auf die technisch- und wissenschaftliche Zielsetzung erweitertes Wiki-System erlaubt das einfache Erstellen von Berichten mit bidirektionalen Verknüpfungen zur Datenbasis, Formeln, Bildern, Modellen und Literaturverweisen (Zotero). Die integrierte Report-Funktionalität ermöglicht über LaTeX qualitativ hochwertige Print-Repräsentationen. Es entstehen konsistente wissenschaftliche Dokumente im Web und in Print mit Groupware-Funktion. Auch externe Dokumente  (z.B. PDF) können nahtlos integriert und in den Volltextindex übernommen werden.

Anfrage